Homeschooling: Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.

Today is Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Day and many of us that honor it are happy to have the day off. Many families get to go to the parade and celebrate, rest, or whatever the case may be.  I, on the other hand, appreciate the time to reflect on what a difference Dr.Martin Luther King’s life has in fact made on my life.

Because of him and respectably many like him, my family is able to enjoy life on a level that was only imaginable at one time.  We have luxuries and freedoms to dine, drink, play, and live in a way that lives were lost to soon to witness.

I thank God for Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. I heard him say in a speech.. to remember him not for his many awards or academic accomplishments, but to remember him for his life of service.  How he tried to serve the poor, feed the hungry, and visit the imprisoned.
So, as my way of remembering Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.  in my home, we begin the day listening to some famous speeches while eating breakfast and after that,  there’s an awesome reading by  Reading Rainbow’s LeVar Burton . I created my own worksheet to go along with the video.  It’s pretty simple but is effective to getting the kids to really listen and make sense of what they’re learning!  I’ll attach it here, be sure to let me know what you think! Enjoy!

wp-image-201209763jpg.jpg

Download Worksheet here!!

 

Leave a Reply

